Thursday, 19 February 2015

Pre-1841 published population lists in Scotland

The Scottish Association of Family History Societies has added a new database to its website detailing pre-1841 population lists that are known to have been published - it can be accessed at

The counties for which the database currently has entries are: Aberdeen, Angus (Forfar), Argyll, Ayr, Banff, Berwick, Dumfries, Fife, Inverness, Kirkcudbright, Lanark, Midlothain (Edinburgh), Moray (Elgin), Orkney, Peebles, Perth, Renfrew, Ross and Cromarty, Roxburgh, Selkirk, Shetland, Stirling, Sutherland, Wigton and West Lothian (Linlithgow).

(With thanks to Doug Stewart)


For details on my range of genealogy guide books please visit To commission me for genealogical research, please visit my research site at

No comments:

Post a Comment