Monday, 15 July 2013

Jodi Awards 2013

The Jodi Awards are presented annually to "promote the cultural equality of disabled people through the use of accessible digital media; the provision of accessible information and learning content; the involvement of disabled people in the process of creation, design and evaluation of digital media." The initiative is steered by the Jodi Mattes Trust, which was created in 2003 as part of the European Year of Disabled People. Started in England, the project was extended to Wales in 2006 thanks to support from CyMAL, then to Scotland in 2008, thanks to support from support of Museums Galleries Scotland, Scottish Libraries and Information Council and the Scottish Archive Network.

As part of the initiative's tenth anniversary three new awards are to be presented this coming November for the following categories - Access Planning and User Involvement, Innovation, and Legacy and Impact. There will also be an International Award for best website outside the UK. For details of previous winners see NB: "The judges will be particularly interested in projects that have been evaluated after completion of the project."

Who can submit a nomination? "Museums, art galleries, heritage sites, archives, libraries, and disability organisations can submit a nomination, as well as commercial companies (commercial companies are invited to submit nominations in association with a service provider)." For more, see

Full details of the application criteria, and the nomination form itself, are available at The deadline for applications to be submitted is Friday August 2nd 2013.

Good luck to all those nominated!

(With thanks to Ben Bennett from the Scottish Council on Archives)


My new book, Tracing Your Irish Family History on the Internet, is now available from Pen and Sword. My Scottish land and church records ebooks are available at, whilst my next Pharos Scottish course, Scottish Research Online, starts Sep 4th - see Time to smash a few brick walls...!

No comments:

Post a Comment